Board of Directors

Heritage Nebraska’s Board of Directors is a diverse group of dedicated individuals bringing statewide perspective and expertise to the field of historic preservation. Chaired by George Haecker, AIA, of Omaha, a principal in the firm of Bahr, Vermeer and Haecker, the 21-member board meets quarterly in various locations across the state. Board members serve staggered three-year terms and each board member serves on at least one standing committee during their tenure. Jan Korell of McCook is vice-chair; Carol Gendler of Omaha is secretary and James Nissen of Lincoln is treasurer. Heritage Nebraska’s Preservation Advisory Committee meets monthly to monitor progress of the mission of education, outreach, preservation and stewardship, making recommendations to the full board on occasion. Heritage Nebraska’s Main Street Advisory Committee meets quarterly with the same task.

Michael Smith
Nebraska State Historical Society

Carol Gendler
Omaha, NE

Dan Worth
Lincoln, NE

Jim Nissen
Lincoln, NE

Jan Korell
McCook, NE

Kevin Andersen
Department of Economic Development
Lincoln, NE

Senator Brad Ashford
Omaha ,NE

Sandra Bartling
Wayne, NE

Wayne Drummond
Lincoln, NE

Doug Duey
Plattsmouth, NE

Charles A. Gifford
Omaha, NE

George Haecker
Omaha, NE

Betty Kort
Hastings, NE

Ann Marsh
Grand Island, NE

Mary Jo Oie
Nebraska Dept. of Roads

DiAnna Schimek
Lincoln, NE

Rick Wallace
Lincoln, NE

Suzanne Wise
Lincoln, NE

Kathy Zeller
Ogallala, NE