Board of Directors

Heritage Nebraska’s Board of Directors is a diverse group of dedicated individuals bringing statewide perspective and expertise to the field of historic preservation. Chaired by George Haecker, AIA, of Omaha, a principal in the firm of Bahr, Vermeer and Haecker, the 21-member board meets quarterly in various locations across the state. Board members serve staggered three-year terms and each board member serves on at least one standing committee during their tenure. Jan Korell of McCook is vice-chair; Carol Gendler of Omaha is secretary and James Nissen of Lincoln is treasurer. Heritage Nebraska’s Preservation Advisory Committee meets monthly to monitor progress of the mission of education, outreach, preservation and stewardship, making recommendations to the full board on occasion. Heritage Nebraska’s Main Street Advisory Committee meets quarterly with the same task.

Michael Smith
CHAIR
Nebraska State Historical Society
michael.smith@nebraska.gov

Carol Gendler
VICE-CHAIR
Omaha, NE
cgendler@cox.net

Dan Worth
SECRETARY
Lincoln, NE
dworth@bvh.com

Jim Nissen
TREASURER
Lincoln, NE
James.F.Nissen@gmail.com

Jan Korell
McCook, NE
Janet_Korell@hotmail.com

Kevin Andersen
Department of Economic Development
Lincoln, NE
kevin.s.andersen@nebraska.gov

Senator Brad Ashford
Omaha ,NE
bashford@bradfordconen.com

Sandra Bartling
Wayne, NE
sandy@providencemedical.com

Wayne Drummond
Lincoln, NE
wdrummond@unl.edu

Doug Duey
Plattsmouth, NE
douglasvduey@aol.com

Charles A. Gifford
Omaha, NE
charles@flatiron-studio.com


George Haecker
Omaha, NE
ghaecker@bvh.com

Betty Kort
Hastings, NE
betty.kort@gmail.com

Ann Marsh
Grand Island, NE
marsh.annabelle@gmail.com

Mary Jo Oie
Nebraska Dept. of Roads
MaryJo.Oie@nebraska.gov

DiAnna Schimek
Lincoln, NE
dschimek@earthlink.net

Rick Wallace
Lincoln, NE
rwallace@cdr-nebraska.org

Suzanne Wise
Lincoln, NE
suzanne.wise@nebraska.gov

Kathy Zeller
Ogallala, NE
ogalogo@megavision.com